TableNest vs simpleERB

simpleERB starts at £21 a month and meters you by covers — 300 a month on Starter, 1,200 on Plus, unlimited only on £80 Pro. TableNest starts at £29 GBP and counts no covers at all. Both quoted before VAT, both from published pages. Figures from simpleERB's own pricing page on 26 September 2026.

Register interest

TableNest is not open for UK signup yet. Register interest and we will tell you when it is.

Not in the UK? See TableNest pricing →
Start with the part that does not favour us: simpleERB is cheaper to start than TableNest. Its Starter plan is £21 a month (simpleERB's own pricing page, checked 26 September 2026) against our UK Starter at £29 GBP — both before VAT, so that is a straight comparison. If the lowest monthly number is what decides this for you, simpleERB wins that line and we will not pretend otherwise. What the rest of this page is about is the second number: what the bill does in a busy month, and what payments cost on top.

On the part everyone worries about

“We moved to TableNest as our previous booking system was charging us a premium monthly charge for features that we didn’t need for our business. The transition was seamless and it offers everything our old booking system had for a fraction of the price.”

Alison Withers

Badger Creek Blueberry Winery & St Ronan’s Cider

FeatureTableNestsimpleERB
Entry priceFrom £29 GBP, before VAT£21 a month, before VAT
Monthly ladder£29 · £49 · £69 · £99£21 · £47 · £80
Annual-billed rate2 months free£18.90 · £42.30 · £72 a month (save 10%)
Covers includedNo cover ceiling on any tier300 · 1,200 · unlimited, by plan
Does a busy month cost more?No — covers are not meteredIt can — the plan is chosen by cover volume
Tax basis statedYes — quoted before VATYes — quoted before VAT
VAT on a UK invoiceAdded at checkoutReverse charge — the UK buyer accounts to HMRC
Deposits and card captureBusiness plans and up, no separate add-onAdd-on at about £16.50 pm / £178.20 pa below Pro
Free startNot yet open to UK signup — register interest250 covers free, no credit card, no commitment
Per-user feeNoneNone
Per-cover commissionNoneNone
Areas, tables and device accessFloor plan and live multi-device sync from ProUnlimited on all of its plans
Group or multi-site planNo multi-site tier — each venue is its own subscriptionSmall Chain — up to 5 restaurants, £250 a month paid annually
Text confirmations120/mo on Starter, 240 on Business10 free SMS, then £40 per 1,000 messages
Email confirmationsNever counted, never cappedNot stated
Square POS syncBusiness plans and upNot stated
Xero accounting syncBusiness plans and upNot stated
Gift cards scan at the Square tillBusiness plans and upNot stated
Visual floor planPro and Pro+Not stated
REST API accessBusiness plans and upNot stated
Own your customer dataYes — CSV export on all plansNot stated

simpleERB figures are taken from simpleERB's own pricing page (www.simpleerb.com/pricing/), fetched 26 September 2026: £21, £47 and £80 a month billed monthly, with cover ceilings of 300, 1,200 and unlimited. GBP is simpleERB's base currency — its own footnote says the USD and EUR figures are "guides on the GBP exchange rate when last updated in December 2025", so the GBP figures are the firm ones. simpleERB quotes before VAT and our UK prices are quoted before VAT too, so every difference below is like-for-like and needs no tax adjustment. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the feature is not named on simpleERB's pricing page, which is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and add-ons change; confirm current terms with simpleERB directly.

Cheaper entry, metered by covers — against flat and uncapped

That is the whole comparison in one line. simpleERB's ladder is priced by how busy you are: £21 up to 300 covers a month, £47 up to 1,200, £80 for unlimited (simpleERB's own pricing page, checked 26 September 2026). Its own page puts it plainly — "You pay a flat monthly subscription based on your cover volume." TableNest's ladder is priced by capability, not by volume: no tier has a cover ceiling, so the month you are fully booked costs what the month you are half empty costs.

The second line is payments. On simpleERB's Starter and Plus, taking deposits or holding card details is an add-on at about £16.50 a month (£178.20 a year), and it comes with the plan only on Pro (simpleERB's own pricing page, checked 26 September 2026). So a Starter venue that takes deposits is really at £21 plus £16.50. On TableNest, deposits through Stripe or Square are part of Business (£49 GBP) and up, with nothing bolted on top.

So price the plan you would actually run, in your busiest month, with the features you would actually switch on — and compare those two numbers rather than the ones at the top of each pricing page. On the entry rung simpleERB is cheaper and this page has already said so. Past a few hundred covers a month, or the moment you need deposits, the arithmetic changes shape.

Where simpleERB is the better buy

A comparison page that finds nothing in the rival's favour is not a comparison. Five things on simpleERB's own pricing page beat ours, and if any of them is your binding constraint you should buy simpleERB.

  • It is cheaper to start. £21 a month against our £29 GBP, both before VAT. For a small venue under 300 covers a month that does not need deposits, that is the lower bill and nothing on this page changes it (simpleERB's own pricing page, checked 26 September 2026).
  • You can try it today, and we cannot sell to you yet. simpleERB offers 250 covers free, no credit card, no commitment. TableNest is not open for UK signup at all yet — this page can only take your interest. If you need a system this month, that is decisive.
  • Unlimited users, tables, areas and devices. simpleERB puts those on all of its plans, including the free trial, and charges no per-user fee. TableNest charges no per-user fee either, but our visual floor plan and its live multi-device sync start at Pro — so on the cheapest plan simpleERB gives you more room to work.
  • Unlimited covers with payments, at one price. simpleERB's Pro plan at £80 a month carries unlimited covers with payments and card capture, in one line, no add-on. If you are a high-volume single site that takes deposits, that is a tidy offer and it is theirs (simpleERB's own pricing page, checked 26 September 2026).
  • A plan built for a small group. Small Chain covers up to 5 restaurants for £250 a month paid annually (simpleERB's own pricing page, checked 26 September 2026). TableNest has no multi-site tier on the shelf; additional venues are each their own subscription, arranged by talking to us. If you run three or four sites, simpleERB has a product for that shape and we do not.
TableNest bookings dashboard showing today's overview, walk-in and booking actions, and upcoming reservations
The bookings dashboard you'd run your venue from.

Frequently asked questions

Both are flat monthly subscriptions with no commission on a booking, and both publish their prices in GBP before VAT, so the comparison is clean. The difference is what the price is a function of. simpleERB prices by cover volume: £21 a month up to 300 covers, £47 up to 1,200, £80 for unlimited. TableNest's ladder — Starter at £29, Business at £49 and Pro at £69 GBP a month — does not count covers at all; what our tiers count is text messages — 120 messages a month on Starter, 240 on Business, with no charge per message until you pass them — and bookings confirmed by email are never counted or capped. So a busy month can move you up a rung at simpleERB and cannot at TableNest. simpleERB figures are taken from simpleERB's own pricing page (www.simpleerb.com/pricing/), fetched 26 September 2026: £21, £47 and £80 a month billed monthly, with cover ceilings of 300, 1,200 and unlimited. GBP is simpleERB's base currency — its own footnote says the USD and EUR figures are "guides on the GBP exchange rate when last updated in December 2025", so the GBP figures are the firm ones. simpleERB quotes before VAT and our UK prices are quoted before VAT too, so every difference below is like-for-like and needs no tax adjustment. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the feature is not named on simpleERB's pricing page, which is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and add-ons change; confirm current terms with simpleERB directly.
Start with the part that does not favour us: simpleERB is cheaper to start than TableNest. Its Starter plan is £21 a month (simpleERB's own pricing page, checked 26 September 2026) against our UK Starter at £29 GBP — both before VAT, so that is a straight comparison. If the lowest monthly number is what decides this for you, simpleERB wins that line and we will not pretend otherwise. What the rest of this page is about is the second number: what the bill does in a busy month, and what payments cost on top. simpleERB's published monthly rates are £21, £47 and £80, or £18.90, £42.30 and £72 a month on its annual "save 10%" billing. There is also a Small Chain plan at £250 a month paid annually for up to 5 restaurants. TableNest is Starter at £29, Business at £49 and Pro at £69 GBP a month, flat, with covers uncapped on all of those. simpleERB figures are taken from simpleERB's own pricing page (www.simpleerb.com/pricing/), fetched 26 September 2026: £21, £47 and £80 a month billed monthly, with cover ceilings of 300, 1,200 and unlimited. GBP is simpleERB's base currency — its own footnote says the USD and EUR figures are "guides on the GBP exchange rate when last updated in December 2025", so the GBP figures are the firm ones. simpleERB quotes before VAT and our UK prices are quoted before VAT too, so every difference below is like-for-like and needs no tax adjustment. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the feature is not named on simpleERB's pricing page, which is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and add-ons change; confirm current terms with simpleERB directly.
That is the question this page exists to make you ask, and simpleERB answers it honestly on its own page: "You pay a flat monthly subscription based on your cover volume." The ceilings are 300 covers a month on Starter and 1,200 on Plus, with unlimited only on £80 Pro (simpleERB's own pricing page, checked 26 September 2026). So the bill is a step function of how busy you are — a good December can put you on the next rung, and its page also promises "no surprise bills at the end of a busy month", which is a fair description of a step rather than a meter. TableNest has no cover ceiling on any tier: the busiest month you ever have costs exactly what the quiet one did. If your covers are steady and comfortably under a ceiling, simpleERB's lower rate is simply the better deal.
Below its top plan, yes. simpleERB's Starter and Plus cards both read "Add payments & card capture feature for a small extra cost ~ £16.50 pm / £178.20 pa (excl VAT)", and its page says the Pro plan "offers unlimited covers with payments and card capture included". So on Starter the real monthly figure for a venue that takes deposits is £21 plus roughly £16.50. TableNest puts deposits and card capture on Business (£49 GBP) and up with no separate add-on fee, through Stripe or Square. Compare the two at the plan you would actually buy, not at the entry rung. simpleERB figures are taken from simpleERB's own pricing page (www.simpleerb.com/pricing/), fetched 26 September 2026: £21, £47 and £80 a month billed monthly, with cover ceilings of 300, 1,200 and unlimited. GBP is simpleERB's base currency — its own footnote says the USD and EUR figures are "guides on the GBP exchange rate when last updated in December 2025", so the GBP figures are the firm ones. simpleERB quotes before VAT and our UK prices are quoted before VAT too, so every difference below is like-for-like and needs no tax adjustment. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the feature is not named on simpleERB's pricing page, which is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and add-ons change; confirm current terms with simpleERB directly.
Because the vendor is established in the Netherlands while selling UK-first — its page charges Dutch VAT to Netherlands customers and applies the reverse charge elsewhere in the EU. Its wording for UK buyers is "UK customers must account to HMRC for the reverse charge output tax on the VAT exclusive price of items marked reverse charge." In practice that means the price you see is the price before VAT and your own bookkeeping accounts for the VAT, rather than the supplier adding it to the invoice. TableNest bills the UK from a UK-facing checkout with VAT added at payment. Both sides quote before VAT, so the comparison on this page is unaffected either way — it is a difference in paperwork, and your accountant will not find it unusual.
Yes. Export your customers and upcoming bookings as CSV and TableNest's import maps the columns by header name — name, email, phone, visit count, notes and dietary preferences — so it does not depend on any one vendor's export layout. Existing customers matched on email or phone are updated rather than duplicated. The widget swap is a single embed-code line on your website. simpleERB asks for no minimum term on its published plans, so the only timing question is your annual billing date if you are on it.

Flat price, uncapped covers, deposits without an add-on

Bookings, CRM, Square POS sync, Xero invoicing, deposits and vouchers on the ladder from £49 GBP. No cover ceiling on any tier, so your busiest month costs what your quietest one did.

Register interestNot in the UK? See TableNest pricing →