TableNest vs Sugarvine Tables

Sugarvine publishes £75 plus VAT a month for one plan that contains everything it does — and "12-month contract applies" beside it. TableNest starts at £29 GBP a month, also before VAT, with no minimum term. Same tax basis on both sides, so the gap is the gap. Figures from Sugarvine's own pricing page on 26 September 2026.

Register interest

TableNest is not open for UK signup yet. Register interest and we will tell you when it is.

Not in the UK? See TableNest pricing →

On the part everyone worries about

“We moved to TableNest as our previous booking system was charging us a premium monthly charge for features that we didn’t need for our business. The transition was seamless and it offers everything our old booking system had for a fraction of the price.”

Alison Withers

Badger Creek Blueberry Winery & St Ronan’s Cider

FeatureTableNestSugarvine Tables
Monthly priceFrom £29 GBP, before VAT£75 plus VAT a month
Annual option2 months free, still no minimum term£799 plus VAT a year, paid up front
Tax basis statedYes — quoted before VATYes — quoted plus VAT
Minimum termNone — cancel at the end of a month12-month contract applies
Per-cover chargeNone, at any volumeNone — unlimited covers
Feature tiersFour tiers — Square, Xero, deposits and vouchers start at BusinessOne plan, no feature tiers
Google booking integrationNone — TableNest has no Google booking integration of any kindListed — “Reserve with Google and Stripe partner”
Time to go liveSelf-serve — set up in an afternoon48 hours, once you give the go-ahead
Setup, training and supportEmail support, self-serve setupSetup, training and ongoing UK-based support
Listing in a consumer dining guideNot offeredComplimentary listing in the Sugarvine dining guide
Group or multi-site pricingNo multi-site tier — each venue is its own subscriptionDiscounts for pub and restaurant groups
Text confirmations120/mo on Starter, 240 on BusinessNot stated
Email confirmationsNever counted, never cappedNot stated
Square POS syncBusiness plans and upNot stated
Xero accounting syncBusiness plans and upNot stated
Deposits (Stripe or Square)Business plans and upStripe partner listed
Fee on a deposit the platform collectsNone — no percentage on top of your processor's own fee1.5% on Stripe-collected payments, separate from the subscription
Gift cards scan at the Square tillBusiness plans and upNot stated
Visual floor planPro and Pro+Not stated
REST API accessBusiness plans and upNot stated
Own your customer dataYes — CSV export on all plansNot stated

Sugarvine figures are taken from Sugarvine's own pricing page (sugarvinetables.com/pricing/), fetched 26 September 2026: £75 plus VAT a month or £799 plus VAT a year, one subscription with no feature tiers, "12-month contract applies" on both options, and a 1.5% payment-handling fee on payments Stripe collects for you. Sugarvine quotes before VAT and our UK prices are quoted before VAT too, so every difference below is like-for-like and needs no tax adjustment. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the figure or feature is not on Sugarvine's pricing page — which is a description of one subscription rather than a feature matrix, so it is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and terms change; confirm current terms with Sugarvine directly.

The two differences that actually decide it

Most comparison pages in this category have to argue about tax, because one vendor quotes inclusive and the other exclusive. Not this one. Sugarvine quotes £75 plus VAT (Sugarvine's own pricing page, checked 26 September 2026); our UK prices are quoted before VAT as well. Both sides are ex-VAT, so you can put the two numbers side by side and the difference is the difference — no adjustment, no footnote.

On price, TableNest's entry tier is £29 GBP a month against Sugarvine's £75 plus VAT, and even Pro at £69 sits under it. On commitment, Sugarvine's page says "12-month contract applies" against both of its options (Sugarvine's own pricing page, checked 26 September 2026); TableNest has no minimum term, so the month you stop is the month you stop paying. If you are moving because the last system did not fit, that second line is worth more than the first.

Where Sugarvine Tables is the better buy

A comparison page that finds nothing in the rival's favour is not a comparison. Five things on Sugarvine's own pricing page beat ours, and if any of them is your binding constraint you should buy Sugarvine.

  • Nothing is gated. Sugarvine's page says every subscription "includes the complete Sugarvine Tables system, with no feature tiers or restricted packages". One price, everything on. Our ladder does gate: Square POS sync, Xero, deposits and vouchers start at Business (£49 GBP), the floor plan at Pro. If you want the whole product without reading a tier table, that is a real advantage and it is theirs.
  • Bookable from Google. TableNest has no Google booking integration of any kind, so this is a real gap on our side: Sugarvine lists Reserve with Google among the integrations its subscription covers, and we do not offer that at any price. If being bookable from Google's own button matters to you, buy Sugarvine.
  • Someone sets it up and trains your staff. Sugarvine includes setup, training and ongoing UK-based support, and says it can have a venue live in 48 hours once you give the go-ahead. TableNest is self-serve with email support. If nobody on your team wants to own the setup, that difference is worth paying for.
  • A dining guide that sends you diners. Every subscription carries a complimentary listing and marketing support through the Sugarvine dining guide. TableNest sells no discovery channel at any price — the diners a directory would have sent you are diners we cannot send you.
  • Groups. Sugarvine offers discounts for pub and restaurant groups. TableNest has no multi-site tier on the shelf; additional venues are each their own subscription, arranged by talking to us.
TableNest bookings dashboard showing today's overview, walk-in and booking actions, and upcoming reservations
The bookings dashboard you'd run your venue from.

Frequently asked questions

Both are flat monthly subscriptions with no commission on a booking, and both publish a price, so the comparison is unusually clean. Two things differ. The first is the shape of the offer: Sugarvine sells one subscription at £75 plus VAT a month that contains everything it does, with "12-month contract applies"; TableNest sells a ladder — Starter at £29, Business at £49 and Pro at £69 GBP a month — with no minimum term, so you can leave at the end of a month. The second is what the fee covers: TableNest carries a two-way Square POS sync, Xero invoicing, deposits, vouchers, events and a public REST API on that ladder, plus a monthly count of text messages — 120 messages a month on Starter, 240 on Business, with no charge per message until you pass them. Bookings confirmed by email are never counted or capped on either side of that. Sugarvine figures are taken from Sugarvine's own pricing page (sugarvinetables.com/pricing/), fetched 26 September 2026: £75 plus VAT a month or £799 plus VAT a year, one subscription with no feature tiers, "12-month contract applies" on both options, and a 1.5% payment-handling fee on payments Stripe collects for you. Sugarvine quotes before VAT and our UK prices are quoted before VAT too, so every difference below is like-for-like and needs no tax adjustment. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the figure or feature is not on Sugarvine's pricing page — which is a description of one subscription rather than a feature matrix, so it is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and terms change; confirm current terms with Sugarvine directly.
Sugarvine publishes £75 plus VAT a month, or £799 plus VAT for a year paid up front — its own page says paying annually saves £101 plus VAT against paying monthly. TableNest's UK ladder is Starter at £29, Business at £49 and Pro at £69 GBP a month. Both sides quote before VAT, so those numbers are directly comparable: our entry tier is the cheaper monthly commitment and our top tier is still below Sugarvine's single price. What that buys is not identical, which is why the table above exists and why the section below names the things Sugarvine does that we do not. Sugarvine figures are taken from Sugarvine's own pricing page (sugarvinetables.com/pricing/), fetched 26 September 2026: £75 plus VAT a month or £799 plus VAT a year, one subscription with no feature tiers, "12-month contract applies" on both options, and a 1.5% payment-handling fee on payments Stripe collects for you. Sugarvine quotes before VAT and our UK prices are quoted before VAT too, so every difference below is like-for-like and needs no tax adjustment. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the figure or feature is not on Sugarvine's pricing page — which is a description of one subscription rather than a feature matrix, so it is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and terms change; confirm current terms with Sugarvine directly.
No, and it is worth getting straight before you compare prices. sugarvinetables.com is the booking system a venue subscribes to — the product on this page. sugarvine.com is a consumer dining guide, a diner-facing directory of places to eat. They are related: Sugarvine's pricing page says a subscription includes "a complimentary listing and marketing support through the Sugarvine dining guide". So the directory is part of what the booking subscription buys you, not a separate thing you pay for.
Its pricing page states "12-month contract applies" beside both the monthly and the annual option, and the annual option asks for the year up front. That is a real commitment either way, and it is the clearest structural difference between the two products: TableNest has no minimum term and no notice period — you cancel at the end of a month and that is the end of it. Whether that matters depends on how sure you are. If you already know the system fits, a 12-month term at £75 plus VAT is a normal way to buy software. If you are switching because the last platform did not fit, the term is the risk. Sugarvine figures are taken from Sugarvine's own pricing page (sugarvinetables.com/pricing/), fetched 26 September 2026: £75 plus VAT a month or £799 plus VAT a year, one subscription with no feature tiers, "12-month contract applies" on both options, and a 1.5% payment-handling fee on payments Stripe collects for you. Sugarvine quotes before VAT and our UK prices are quoted before VAT too, so every difference below is like-for-like and needs no tax adjustment. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the figure or feature is not on Sugarvine's pricing page — which is a description of one subscription rather than a feature matrix, so it is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and terms change; confirm current terms with Sugarvine directly.
No. Its pricing page answers this directly — "Are there any per-cover charges? No. Sugarvine Tables does not charge per cover" — and lists "unlimited covers" and "no per-cover charges or hidden fees" against both options. There is one charge on top of the subscription, and its page states it rather than hiding it: a 1.5% payment-handling fee on payments Stripe collects, covered in the next answer. TableNest has no per-cover charge either, at any volume, and does not meter covers at all: what our tiers meter is text messages, and bookings confirmed by email are never counted or capped. So on covers this is a genuine tie, and it is the row most of this category fails.
One thing, and it publishes it. Verbatim from its pricing page: "If you use Stripe to collect deposits or payments, a 1.5% payment-handling fee applies. This charge only applies to payments processed through Stripe and is separate from your Sugarvine Tables subscription. There are no per-cover charges for standard bookings." So it is scoped to money you actually collect through the platform, not to bookings — a venue that never takes a deposit never meets it, and a venue that collects deposits all month pays 1.5% of everything it collected, on top of whatever Stripe charges to process the cards. TableNest takes no percentage of a deposit at all: the Checkout Session is created on your own connected Stripe account, so the processor's fee is between you and Stripe and nothing is skimmed on the way past. That is the one line where our number is lower and theirs is not zero — and it is also the reason the monthly prices above are not the whole cost on either side. Sugarvine figures are taken from Sugarvine's own pricing page (sugarvinetables.com/pricing/), fetched 26 September 2026: £75 plus VAT a month or £799 plus VAT a year, one subscription with no feature tiers, "12-month contract applies" on both options, and a 1.5% payment-handling fee on payments Stripe collects for you. Sugarvine quotes before VAT and our UK prices are quoted before VAT too, so every difference below is like-for-like and needs no tax adjustment. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the figure or feature is not on Sugarvine's pricing page — which is a description of one subscription rather than a feature matrix, so it is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and terms change; confirm current terms with Sugarvine directly.
Yes, with one thing to check first: your Sugarvine term. Export your customers and upcoming bookings as CSV and TableNest's import maps the columns by header name — name, email, phone, visit count, notes and dietary preferences — so it does not depend on any one vendor's export layout. Existing customers matched on email or phone are updated rather than duplicated. The widget swap is a single embed-code line on your website. Check where you are in your 12-month term before you move, so you are not paying two subscriptions for longer than you planned.

One flat fee, no minimum term, and the price is on the page

Bookings, CRM, Square POS sync, Xero invoicing, deposits and vouchers on the ladder from £49 GBP. No per-cover charge at any volume, and nothing to give notice on.

Register interestNot in the UK? See TableNest pricing →