TableNest vs TableAgent

TableAgent's reservation system is free — its own page calls it a "100% free restaurant reservation system" with "No Setup Fees / No Monthly Fees / No Booking Fees / No Per Customer Fees". If a booking list is all you need, that is the right answer and we are the wrong one. Where we start earning a fee is texting, deposits and the rest of the till: TableNest is one flat figure from $19 USD a month with those inside it. Figures from its own pricing page on 26 September 2026.

Start 30-day free trial

No card required. Free for 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Not in the US? See TableNest pricing →

On the part everyone worries about

“We moved to TableNest as our previous booking system was charging us a premium monthly charge for features that we didn’t need for our business. The transition was seamless and it offers everything our old booking system had for a fraction of the price.”

Alison Withers

Badger Creek Blueberry Winery & St Ronan’s Cider

FeatureTableNestTableAgent
Price of the reservation systemFrom $19 USD a month, before tax — no free tierFree — “100% free restaurant reservation system”
Setup feeNoneNone — “No Setup Fees”
Per-booking or per-cover chargeNone, at any volumeNone — “No Booking Fees”, “No Per Customer Fees”
Percentage taken on a payment you collectNone — your own Stripe or Square account, no application feeNone — “no per-transaction charges”, your own merchant account
Taking a deposit or prepayment onlineBusiness plans and up, inside the subscriptionOnline Payments add-on, USD 29 per month flat
Text confirmations and reminders240/mo on Starter, 720 on Business, then per messageInside Premium, “starting at USD 29 per month” — uncapped: “No limits, no additional fees”
Published price for what you needYes — one published figure per tierPremium is quoted as a floor, not a figure
Staying out of a public diner directoryAlways — TableNest runs no directory and no diner networkUnlisted, private-profile account at USD 30 per month
A public listing that can send you dinersNot offered — TableNest sells no discovery channel at any pricePublic venue profile, included in the free plan
Email confirmationsNever counted, never cappedNot stated
WaitlistYes — auto-notify on Pro+Listed in the free plan
Guest managementYes, every plan, with CSV exportListed in the free plan
Booking widget on your own siteYes, every plan — one embed lineWebsite integration listed in the free plan
ReportsBusiness plans and upListed in the free plan
Coupons / vouchersVouchers on Business plans and upCoupons listed in the free plan
Square POS syncBusiness plans and upNot stated
Xero accounting syncBusiness plans and upNot stated
Gift cards scan at the Square tillBusiness plans and upNot stated
Visual floor planPro and Pro+Not stated
REST API accessBusiness plans and upNot stated
Minimum termNone — cancel at the end of a monthNot stated
Where it is soldOpen for US signup today, alongside Australia and New ZealandUS dollars only; its support line is a +1 866 number
Own your customer dataYes — CSV export on all plansNot stated

TableAgent figures are taken from its own pricing page (tableagent.com/pricing), read 26 September 2026: a "100% free restaurant reservation system" with "No Setup Fees / No Monthly Fees / No Booking Fees / No Per Customer Fees"; an optional Online Payments add-on at USD 29 per month flat, described as unlimited online payment transactions with no per-transaction charges on the venue's own merchant account; text messaging inside its Premium plan, "starting at USD 29 per month", with the messages themselves uncapped — "No limits, no additional fees"; and an unlisted, private-profile account at USD 30 per month. Those last two are quoted as two separate lines because that is how its page lists them — we do not add them together, because the page does not say whether Premium already contains Online Payments. Its figures are US dollars and its support number is a +1 866 line, so this page is written for a US venue; TableNest's US prices are quoted before tax, the same basis TableAgent's are. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the figure or feature is not on that pricing page as we read it — which is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and terms change; confirm current terms with TableAgent directly.

Free is a real answer, so start there

Most pages like this one open by finding something wrong with the cheaper product. There is nothing wrong with this one: TableAgent's page says "100% free restaurant reservation system" and backs it with "No Setup Fees / No Monthly Fees / No Booking Fees / No Per Customer Fees" (TableAgent's own pricing page, checked 26 September 2026), and the free plan covers the booking dashboard, waitlist, guest management, website integration, reports and coupons. TableNest has no free tier and never has. If a reservation list is the whole job, stop reading and go and set up a free account.

Our case begins exactly where their price list begins — and on the first line of it, they beat us. Text messaging sits inside Premium, quoted as "starting at USD 29 per month", and the messages themselves are uncapped: "No limits, no additional fees". A floor rather than a figure, so their page does not say what takes that plan above its cheapest month — but uncapped is uncapped, and no counted allowance of ours can match it at volume. Online Payments is USD 29 per month flat. An unlisted, private-profile account is USD 30 per month. Those are three separate lines on their page, and we are not going to add them up for you: the page does not say whether Premium already contains Online Payments, and inventing that would be exactly the kind of claim this page is built to avoid.

So here is the arithmetic, and past a point it does not go our way. Take the cheapest TableNest route to a given month's volume — the lowest tier that carries messages, plus its per-message charge once you pass the count it includes — and it draws level with Premium's published floor, "starting at USD 29 per month", at 440 text messages a month. Under that we cost less, and you know the figure before the month starts. Over it their uncapped plan costs less, and the gap widens with every message you send. Their floor is their own published number; the 440 is worked out from our price list, not theirs, at the dearer of our two per-message rates — so if anything it hands them the crossing a little early.

What we can compare is one tier against one need. TableNest Starter at $19 USD carries 240 text messages a month on Starter and 720 on Business, with no charge per message until you pass them. Business at $34 adds deposits on your own Stripe or Square account, two-way Square POS sync, Xero invoicing, vouchers, reports and the public REST API. Both are flat, published, and the same before-tax basis TableAgent quotes in. So the question is not which is cheaper — for a bare booking list, they are, by the whole amount. It is whether the things you would be adding one at a time on their page are things we already put in one.

Where TableAgent is the better buy

A comparison page that finds nothing in the rival's favour is not a comparison. Five things here are theirs, and the first two are not close calls.

  • It costs nothing, with no clock on it. "No Setup Fees / No Monthly Fees / No Booking Fees / No Per Customer Fees" — and no trial to expire. TableNest's trial runs 30 days and then it is a subscription. If budget is the binding constraint, this comparison is over and TableAgent wins it.
  • Unlimited text messages, once you are paying for texting at all. Its Premium plan, "starting at USD 29 per month", carries texting with "No limits, no additional fees" (TableAgent's own pricing page, checked 26 September 2026). TableNest counts them instead: 240 text messages a month on Starter and 720 on Business, with no charge per message until you pass them. Past 440 text messages a month, their floor is the cheaper of the two and stays cheaper. A venue that texts every guest a confirmation and a reminder should price that difference before it prices anything else.
  • Reports and coupons are in the free plan. Both are listed on their free tier. On our ladder, reports and vouchers start at Business ($34 USD). A venue that wants reports and a coupon and nothing else pays us and would pay them nothing.
  • Online payments, flat and percentage-free, as a standalone. USD 29 per month for unlimited transactions on your existing merchant account, with no per-transaction cut. If prepayments are the only thing you need on top of a free booking list, that is a clean, cheap deal and you cannot buy it from us as a standalone at all — it comes with a tier.
  • A directory that can send you diners. TableAgent runs a public profile for a venue, and prices staying OUT of it at USD 30 per month. Read the other way round, that means being in it is free and it is a discovery channel. TableNest sells no discovery channel at any price, so the covers a listing might have sent you are covers we cannot send you.

Where we are the better buy is narrower and easier to state: your texting stays under 440 messages a month, you want deposits without buying a second product, and you want Square, Xero, the floor plan or the API. TableAgent's own pricing page, checked 26 September 2026.

Comparing TableAgent against something else as well? TableNest vs Tablein and TableNest vs NowBookIt cover the two systems people most often put beside it.

TableNest bookings dashboard showing today's overview, walk-in and booking actions, and upcoming reservations
The bookings dashboard you'd run your venue from.

Frequently asked questions

Yes, for the reservation system itself. Its pricing page calls it a "100% free restaurant reservation system" and lists "No Setup Fees / No Monthly Fees / No Booking Fees / No Per Customer Fees", covering the booking dashboard, waitlist, guest management, website integration, reports and coupons. There is no trial clock on that and nothing to cancel. TableNest has no free tier — the trial runs 30 days and then it is a paid subscription — so if a zero-dollar reservation list is what you need, TableAgent gives you one and we do not. What is not free on their side is texting and taking money: its page puts text messaging inside Premium, "starting at USD 29 per month" — and once you are on it the messages are uncapped, "No limits, no additional fees" — the Online Payments add-on at USD 29 per month, and an unlisted private-profile account at USD 30 per month. TableAgent figures are taken from its own pricing page (tableagent.com/pricing), read 26 September 2026: a "100% free restaurant reservation system" with "No Setup Fees / No Monthly Fees / No Booking Fees / No Per Customer Fees"; an optional Online Payments add-on at USD 29 per month flat, described as unlimited online payment transactions with no per-transaction charges on the venue's own merchant account; text messaging inside its Premium plan, "starting at USD 29 per month", with the messages themselves uncapped — "No limits, no additional fees"; and an unlisted, private-profile account at USD 30 per month. Those last two are quoted as two separate lines because that is how its page lists them — we do not add them together, because the page does not say whether Premium already contains Online Payments. Its figures are US dollars and its support number is a +1 866 line, so this page is written for a US venue; TableNest's US prices are quoted before tax, the same basis TableAgent's are. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the figure or feature is not on that pricing page as we read it — which is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and terms change; confirm current terms with TableAgent directly.
The difference is where the line between free and paid falls, not whether either of us takes a commission — neither does. TableAgent gives you the reservation layer for nothing and prices the extras as add-ons. TableNest charges one flat figure per tier — Starter at $19, Business at $34 and Pro at $49 USD a month — and the extras are inside it: 240 text messages a month on Starter and 720 on Business, with no charge per message until you pass them, and Square POS sync, Xero invoicing, deposits, vouchers, reports and the public REST API from Business up. So the comparison is not "cheap versus expensive", it is "pay nothing and add pieces" against "pay once and have them". Which is cheaper depends entirely on how many pieces you need. TableAgent figures are taken from its own pricing page (tableagent.com/pricing), read 26 September 2026: a "100% free restaurant reservation system" with "No Setup Fees / No Monthly Fees / No Booking Fees / No Per Customer Fees"; an optional Online Payments add-on at USD 29 per month flat, described as unlimited online payment transactions with no per-transaction charges on the venue's own merchant account; text messaging inside its Premium plan, "starting at USD 29 per month", with the messages themselves uncapped — "No limits, no additional fees"; and an unlisted, private-profile account at USD 30 per month. Those last two are quoted as two separate lines because that is how its page lists them — we do not add them together, because the page does not say whether Premium already contains Online Payments. Its figures are US dollars and its support number is a +1 866 line, so this page is written for a US venue; TableNest's US prices are quoted before tax, the same basis TableAgent's are. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the figure or feature is not on that pricing page as we read it — which is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and terms change; confirm current terms with TableAgent directly.
No, and this is worth stating plainly because most of this category does. TableAgent's Online Payments add-on is a flat USD 29 per month for unlimited online payment transactions with no per-transaction charges, on your existing merchant account. TableNest's deposits run through your own connected Stripe or Square account and we take no application fee, so the only cut is the processor's own. Two different billing shapes, the same honest answer: neither of us skims your prepayments. The difference is that on TableNest deposits are part of the Business subscription ($34 USD) rather than a separate line. TableAgent figures are taken from its own pricing page (tableagent.com/pricing), read 26 September 2026: a "100% free restaurant reservation system" with "No Setup Fees / No Monthly Fees / No Booking Fees / No Per Customer Fees"; an optional Online Payments add-on at USD 29 per month flat, described as unlimited online payment transactions with no per-transaction charges on the venue's own merchant account; text messaging inside its Premium plan, "starting at USD 29 per month", with the messages themselves uncapped — "No limits, no additional fees"; and an unlisted, private-profile account at USD 30 per month. Those last two are quoted as two separate lines because that is how its page lists them — we do not add them together, because the page does not say whether Premium already contains Online Payments. Its figures are US dollars and its support number is a +1 866 line, so this page is written for a US venue; TableNest's US prices are quoted before tax, the same basis TableAgent's are. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the figure or feature is not on that pricing page as we read it — which is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and terms change; confirm current terms with TableAgent directly.
Its page routes texting through Premium, "starting at USD 29 per month", and the messages themselves are uncapped: "No limits, no additional fees" — confirmations, table-ready messages and reminders. That cuts both ways, so here are both halves. In their favour: uncapped is uncapped, and TableNest is not — we carry 240 text messages a month on Starter and 720 on Business, with no charge per message until you pass them, and charge per message once you are past it. In ours: "starting at" is a floor, not a price, so their page does not say what takes that plan above its cheapest month, while every figure on our ladder is published. The two draw level at 440 text messages a month, counting the cheapest TableNest route to that volume against their floor: fewer than that and we cost less, more and they do, and the gap keeps widening in their favour after that. Work out your own monthly volume before you choose — on this question that number decides it, not the subscription. TableAgent figures are taken from its own pricing page (tableagent.com/pricing), read 26 September 2026: a "100% free restaurant reservation system" with "No Setup Fees / No Monthly Fees / No Booking Fees / No Per Customer Fees"; an optional Online Payments add-on at USD 29 per month flat, described as unlimited online payment transactions with no per-transaction charges on the venue's own merchant account; text messaging inside its Premium plan, "starting at USD 29 per month", with the messages themselves uncapped — "No limits, no additional fees"; and an unlisted, private-profile account at USD 30 per month. Those last two are quoted as two separate lines because that is how its page lists them — we do not add them together, because the page does not say whether Premium already contains Online Payments. Its figures are US dollars and its support number is a +1 866 line, so this page is written for a US venue; TableNest's US prices are quoted before tax, the same basis TableAgent's are. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the figure or feature is not on that pricing page as we read it — which is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and terms change; confirm current terms with TableAgent directly.
On TableAgent, staying unlisted is a paid option: its page prices an unlisted, private-profile account at USD 30 per month. On TableNest there is nothing to pay, because there is nothing to opt out of — we run no diner-facing directory and no discovery network, so your venue is never listed anywhere by us and we never re-market to your guests. Whether that is worth anything to you depends on whether you want the directory traffic. If you do, that is a point for them: a directory we do not have cannot send you covers. TableAgent figures are taken from its own pricing page (tableagent.com/pricing), read 26 September 2026: a "100% free restaurant reservation system" with "No Setup Fees / No Monthly Fees / No Booking Fees / No Per Customer Fees"; an optional Online Payments add-on at USD 29 per month flat, described as unlimited online payment transactions with no per-transaction charges on the venue's own merchant account; text messaging inside its Premium plan, "starting at USD 29 per month", with the messages themselves uncapped — "No limits, no additional fees"; and an unlisted, private-profile account at USD 30 per month. Those last two are quoted as two separate lines because that is how its page lists them — we do not add them together, because the page does not say whether Premium already contains Online Payments. Its figures are US dollars and its support number is a +1 866 line, so this page is written for a US venue; TableNest's US prices are quoted before tax, the same basis TableAgent's are. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the figure or feature is not on that pricing page as we read it — which is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and terms change; confirm current terms with TableAgent directly.
A venue that takes bookings and nothing more. If a reservation list, a waitlist, a guest list, a booking widget on your own site and basic reports are the whole job, TableAgent does that for nothing and you should not pay us for it. Add-ons change the picture one at a time: online payments are USD 29 per month, an unlisted profile is USD 30 per month, and texting sits inside Premium, "starting at USD 29 per month" — a floor rather than a figure, and uncapped once you are on it. A high-volume texter should buy them for that reason alone: past 440 text messages a month their floor beats the cheapest route we can offer. Once two or three of those are on your list, compare the total against one TableNest tier — Starter at $19, Business at $34 and Pro at $49 USD a month — and check whether the things we bundle at Business (Square POS sync, Xero, deposits, vouchers, reports, the API) are on your list too. TableAgent figures are taken from its own pricing page (tableagent.com/pricing), read 26 September 2026: a "100% free restaurant reservation system" with "No Setup Fees / No Monthly Fees / No Booking Fees / No Per Customer Fees"; an optional Online Payments add-on at USD 29 per month flat, described as unlimited online payment transactions with no per-transaction charges on the venue's own merchant account; text messaging inside its Premium plan, "starting at USD 29 per month", with the messages themselves uncapped — "No limits, no additional fees"; and an unlisted, private-profile account at USD 30 per month. Those last two are quoted as two separate lines because that is how its page lists them — we do not add them together, because the page does not say whether Premium already contains Online Payments. Its figures are US dollars and its support number is a +1 866 line, so this page is written for a US venue; TableNest's US prices are quoted before tax, the same basis TableAgent's are. Where a row reads "Not stated", that means the figure or feature is not on that pricing page as we read it — which is not evidence the product lacks it. Plans and terms change; confirm current terms with TableAgent directly.
Yes, and the fact that you are not on a contract either way makes it unusually easy. Export your customers and upcoming bookings as CSV and TableNest's import maps the columns by header name — name, email, phone, visit count, notes and dietary preferences — so it does not depend on any one vendor's export layout. Existing customers matched on email or phone are updated rather than duplicated. The widget swap is a single embed-code line on your website. Because TableAgent's core plan costs nothing, you can leave the account open while you run both for a fortnight, which is not a luxury a paid platform gives you.

One flat fee, with the add-ons already in it

Bookings, CRM, text confirmations, Square POS sync, Xero invoicing, deposits and vouchers on the ladder from $34 USD. No per-cover charge at any volume, no percentage of the money you collect, and no minimum term.

Start 30-day free trial

No card required. Free for 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Not in the US? See TableNest pricing →